PDA

View Full Version : Masthead navigation light: Are lights conforming to COLREGS Rule 25(c) disallowed?

pbryant
02-19-2016, 06:39 PM
The Race Rules state: "4.30 Navigation lights... All yachts shall have a masthead tricolor light," -- which is described in COLREGS as Rule 25(b).

When I got my Master's license, one of the mnemonic phrases I had to remember was: "Red Over Green - Sailing Machine." I am a strong proponent of the optional navigation light configuration allowed under COLREGS Rule 25(c). It clearly defines my vessel as a sailboat to other professional mariners (i.e., "big boats") who know the navigation rules forward and backward. A single light at a sailboat masthead hovering in space against a dark sky cannot be discerned at a distance from an ordinary small motor vessel - especially when viewed from astern where both types of vessels will only display a single white light. The combination of red-over-green lights at the mast top plus the three navigation lights on deck is far more noticeable. It's says unmistakably: "This is a sailboat." The vertical spacing of the lights allows estimating distance, and the orientation of the red-over-green lights to the navigation lights on deck provides aspect information - which a single visible color from tricolor light cannot do.

I know it's not common in these parts, but the Rule 25(c) configuration is common in other parts of the world that have much more congested waters.