PDA

View Full Version : Farallons race - would I "need" self-steering?

Jud - Vancouver
10-23-2011, 07:48 PM
Thinking of trailering my Cal 20 down to SF for the Farallons Race next spring. I don't, as yet, have reliable self-steering, and my budget is tight.

Is it crazy to think of doing the race without self-steering? Admittedly, I have limited singlehanding experience (but hope to have more by the time of the race), so I'm not sure how best to manage the boat without reliable self-steering, other than tying off the tiller occasionally to hold the helm steady when needed (to go forward to drop a sail, etc.), but that is not self-steering per se. I assume others have done the race without reliable self-steering?

Just trying to get an idea of whether the 56 mile trip out and back would be too much without self-steering. Of course, this is a totally subjective question, but just curious to see what opinions are. For the record, I'm early 40s, am fit, so can handle long spells at the helm no problem, but...........but, then again....how long would the Farallons race be in a Cal 20, lessee, 56 miles at a max. 5 knots average = 11-12 hours? Nuts?

todd22123
10-23-2011, 08:36 PM
there are some good instructions on how to steer without self steering here. http://www.sfbaysss.org/tipsbook/index.html?id=4
some people use a line running up to the bow through some blocks attached to the stanchions and attached to the tiller to steer the boat briefly.

PSutchek
10-24-2011, 10:00 PM
It would be most likely less than 11 to 12 hours ,,, IF you fly Spin ! ! 4.5 knts average upwind ,,, and depending on the wind speed coming back in the gate ... it could cut down the time to 8 hours or so ... We've had our cal20 up to 13.6knots over the bottom in and out of the SF bay !

Although , we were not able to complete the Farallons race this year , we got within 7 miles of the island and the wind shut off.... It was still a LONG WAY in under motor !

Good luck ,