PDA

View Full Version : To Sock or Not To Sock?

pogen
01-13-2012, 03:33 PM
Hi All,

I have an Olson 34 -- sym kite boat, medium displacement. I am still pretty new to single/shorthanded spin handling. Generally, we douse in a conventional matter, go deep, pole forward, raise the jib (esp. if windy), then either spike the guy or let it run, gather the foot under the boom, halyard down in a controlled manner. I have done it by myself a few times, too.

However, several pretty knowledgeable sailors are suggesting strongly that I get a spin sock for shorthanding, especially for our upcoming PacCup DH run this summer. The benefits would be fast and easy douse when squalls hit, and even douse or semi-douse when jibing. The main drawback as I see it is complexity and the chance for things to get tangled aloft. Also my bias would be to keep things as simple as possible. But on the other hand I am not too happy of the idea of getting caught with the spin up when the wind jumps from 18 kts to 32 kts. The expense ($600) is also a negative.

I'm told that Stan Honey on his Cal 40 uses a sock crewed even, and all sorts of TransPac crewed boats use them. When I look at our SSS fleet on the water, it seems like it's a pretty mixed bag.

I'm trying to borrow one to try, but in the mean time what do you guys think?

Thanks

David

PS After this we can talk about what folks think about twin pole setups. ;)

Travieso
01-13-2012, 04:23 PM
Hi David,