PDA

View Full Version : Gybing asymmetric SH

ddubois
03-04-2012, 04:51 AM
I'd like to hear the process some use for outside gybing an asymmetric when SH. Specifically how you maintain coordination of the turn with the clew of the A-sail around the front of the boat and doing the big in-haul of the new sheet while at the same time gybing the main. It doesn't seem the autopilot can be much help like it can be with a symmetric where you can set it deep, go jibe the pole then come back and make the turn and gybe the main.

Thanks,
Doug

Ragnar
03-04-2012, 08:58 AM
I think I've done this maybe 4 times because it's a PITA, but here is my self-taught process:

Sail down to 170 apparent - on autopilot the entire time.
Shift load from guy to tack line & bring sail to bow
Pole forward, down & on deck. Pole lift & downhaul stay attached but loose
Sheet out all the way to "flag" the Asym in front of the boat.
Push the + or -10 a few times on the autopilot to bring the bow over to 160 AWA on the new gybe
Gybe Main
Pull in new spin sheet
Pole up, near forestay
Pull in new guy while releasing tack line & bring pole back
Adjust course, guy & sheet as necessary

With 5 lines on the spinnaker, it's a mess. And to think we do this stuff voluntarily. At night. I guess that's why sprits were invented.

I suppose if you had a sock, it would somehow come into play.

BobJ
03-04-2012, 10:22 AM
"I guess that's why sprits were invented." Yep - here's how it works on my boat:

Like so much of what we do, success is mostly in the prep:

1) The currently-loaded sheet is sorted and ready to run out (this is the most important)

2) The spinnaker is full and drawing well (come up slightly if necessary)

3) There's enough sea room in case you have to gybe back (to clear a wrap) and gybe again

Then I use a two step gybe (kite first, then main):

4) Bear off to a deep broad reach so the spinnaker gets soft behind the main (on my boat it's usually two ten-degree bumps on the AP)