PDA

View Full Version : Choosing the first boat

kotyara
10-28-2012, 10:39 PM
Hi all,

I'm very new to sailing, having just completed the ASA101 course, but the itch is just too great to resist, so I'm already looking to get a boat :) The plan is to start daysailing in the south bay at first, then do some weekend cruising in the rest of the bay, and eventually progress towards racing and short coastal outings (Farallones, HalfMoon Bay, etc.). Thing is, I'll most likely end up single-handed most of the time, so I thought I'd ask the wiser heads in this forum for some advice as to which boat would be more suitable to that purpose. I've spent the weekend looking at the various boats in the area and narrowed it down to three: Cal 2-27, Pearson 28-1 and Islander Bahama 28. I'd very much appreciate your opinions on these boats, especially as it applies to single-handing and learning to sail on. I'd also like to hear thought on inboard vs. outboard motor selection.

Thanks a bunch,
Alex.

Philpott
10-29-2012, 07:48 PM
I bought a Cal 2-27 in June. Since then at least two SSSers have bought Cal 2-27s. Copycats. What sold me on an inboard was sailing home in the dark after the 3 Bridge earlier this year. There was still wind and I was sailing my previous boat with its outboard. I thought about how glad I was that there was wind and I didn't need to lean back over the transom, over that dark water full of sea monsters and boogiemen to position and then start my motor. It was cold. I was wet. Even though I was tethered an inboard motor began to have real appeal.

Critter
10-31-2012, 11:12 AM