Thread: 2014 Tanspac forum?

Default 2014 Tanspac forum?

Is there a forum for the 2014 Transpac? If so, could someone point me at it?

Thanks!

The 2014 TransPac Forum has just opened. I posted a "documents" thread a moment ago.

For your information of what to expect, view the LongPac as well as the 2012 TransPac discussions.

What is your boat's name?

Lucie Mewes

Hi Lucie,

Thanks! The boat's name is Ad Astra ("To the stars"). I'm an engineer at NASA, so it seemed appropriate.

She's at Pillar Point Harbor. I see SSS is sailing there tomorrow. Maybe I'll have the opportunity to meet some members.

I'm very impressed by the wealth of high quality information posted on the site!

I have a question and an offer.

Question: Is there any protocol for just cruising along with the race as a non-competitor? My reason for asking is this: my boat is fully outfitted, and then some, for the race but... I have yet to find suitable lifeline stanchions that attach to the hull instead of the deck. I refuse to bore holes in my balsa-cored deck for stanchions. One leak, and my deck in compromised. I've been sailing my boat for three years in Pacific swells (often big, sharp ones), and I always use center-deck jacklines, a short tether, and a harness (with leg straps). I'm always clipped in even in the most benign conditions - I feel naked otherwise - like driving without a seat belt. I don't want to start a debate about the value of lifelines since they are clearly useful to some, but the absence of lifelines on my boat is a clear violation of the racing rules that I presume disqualifies my boat. Also, my handicap for my Pearson Ariel is so high that - given any prolonged periods of less than 10 kts of wind and - I may not complete the race in 21 days. Finishing the race in the time limit is a real challenge to those of us with smaller classic long-keeled 50 year-old boats. But I would love to come along, and maybe offer some weather info along the way during checkins.