Thread: Newbie: safety list and spreadsheet

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Newbie: safety list and spreadsheet

I'm a newbie. I was fortunate to have David Herrigel offer to inspect my boat, EOS. I started with the safety list in PDF at http://yra.org/wp-content/uploads/20...hanges2022.pdf I turned that into an Excel spreadsheet and filled in my answers. One tricky part is getting everything to print in a reasonable number of pages. This list is living in that I still had a number of TBDs at the time of inspection, some of which were questions that David answered. I am still updating this list as equipment gets checked, replaced, offshore requirements added and so on. David thought this attached spreadsheet might be useful to others.
    Attached Files Attached Files

I'll try and keep any thread updates tagged with the spreadsheet/SER item numbers.

wrt 3.2.1 Jacklines

David suggested using an etrier attached to a lifejacket, and someone asked me about them. The idea is to use an etrier to help get yourself on when you're off. Etriers are small climbing ladders made from webbing. I tried two: one from Petzl and one from Metolius. They cost $30-50. They are variously called "etriers" "aids" "aider" "steps". Search on Amazon for "PETZL – Stirrup Light of Artificial 5 Steps for Climbing, Polyester, Black" and for "Metolius Pocket Aider". These two fold into small pockets about 3" x 4". The Petzl pocket / bag is smaller but harder to get in/out of the pocket. The Petzl has L-shaped steps (grey webbing in the picture). The Metolius has U-shaped steps (blue webbing). Both are about same length, about 5 ft. Both have loops to attach a carabiner. The Petzl has their "string" which stops the loop sliding around on a carabiner. Not sure yet whether it is better /easier / more comfortable to use a lightweight climbing carabiner or something else to attach the pocket loop to my lifejacket / life belt / full-body harness straps.