Thread: AIS options

Default AIS options

Does anyone have tips on AIS? I'm equipping my Moore and specifically am looking at the small/light/cheap/low power drain types. From a quick look, it seems to me that the AIS/VHF combos offer a good value--something like the Standard Horizion GX2150B or similar. Can I get some help from the assembled multitude? I've zero experience with AIS since the last time I was seriously offshore it wasn't around for us yachties.

Some of us have this unit (bought from this store in the UK):

http://www.allgadgets.co.uk/marine/p...dar-32p115.htm

It's still the most affordable stand-alone unit. It draws very little power so you can leave it on all the time out there. One weakness is that it has no data output so you can't put the data on your chartplotter or laptop, and it doesn't compute CPA. But it's doing its thing without other devices needing to be on, and it has a loud enough beeper to wake you up if a ship comes within range. It's also very easy to read.

I just bought the Standard Horizon VHF (2150?) with AIS and it's pretty cool. The AIS display is much smaller and harder to read than the NASA unit's, but it shows the CPA and has data out at both baud rates so you can send it into whatever other devices you have. I also got the ram mic so I have all the same info in the cockpit. I'll still keep the NASA unit though - when I do another long race I'll plug it into my backup VHF antenna on the stern pulpit.

The S-H 2150 seems like it will be a bit of a power hog - I just installed it so I'm not sure yet.

That's approximately $310

I had a NASA unit on WILDFLOWER also. Excellent for stand alone. Minimal power draw. Even though I had the NASA AIS hooked up to the backup VHF whip antenna on the stern pulpit, it would still pick up ships at 15-20 miles if you wanted. I kept it on smaller (8 mile) range. The beeper was very audible, as Bob says. Important to have loud beeper whatever AIS you choose.